Barnabas Son of Encouragement Award – Next Award will be at Educators Conference in 2018

This award recognizes excellent pastors who support School Ministries.  It is presented at the Educators Conference to a Pastor Serving in a Congregation in the Florida-Georgia District that includes a School Ministry.  It is presented to a Pastor on behalf of the Educators in the District.

Link to download Barnabas Award Instructions

Dr. Ben Eggers Outstanding Educator Award

In 1986 our District Administrators Association began recognizing a “Teacher of the Year” at its annual Educator’s Conference each Fall. Dr. Ben Eggers served as the FL/GA District Parish Services Executive from 1979-1986 after serving as the youth ministry director for the LCMS. This position served all the schools in the district as well as the congregations.Ben (Gentle Ben) was a robust man, passionate about his love for the Lord and a love for the Lord’s people. He was a visionary who appreciated the ministry of every teacher, administrator and support staff member in our schools. He had high expectations of those in ministry and he loved to have a good time. Ben knew how to enjoy a party. He was one of those rare individuals who just seemed to have it all together. He could recall the name of every person he ever met? But Ben didn’t just remember names. He remembered people, and there is a difference. Ben was an advocate for our schools and a true encourager of our educators in their ministry. Ben died very suddenly on May 21, 1993, after delivering a keynote address at the Walther League Convention.

In the Fall of 1993 the Administrators Association elected to rename the “Teacher of the Year” award, the “Dr. Ben Eggers Outstanding Educator” award, and his wife Lillian Eggers Wiebel was there at the Educators’ Conference, for the first presentation of the award, to Tim Riggs, from Trinity, Delray Beach.

We have so many dedicated, outstanding educators in our district and it became increasingly difficult to choose only one for this honor. In 2001 additional categories were added to recognize teachers, at various grade levels, and administrators, and in 2009 we recognized educators, from different Christian denominations, teaching in our Lutheran Schools.

Steps needed to nominate an educator – Next award will be at Educators Conference in 2018

  • Download the three files below.
  • Start with the checklist to make sure you do everything necessary to submit a valid nomination.
  • Read the award criteria to make sure your candidate qualifies.
  • Complete the nomination form.
  • Submit your nomination by due date on form.

Link to download checklist 

Link to download award criteria

Link to download nomination form